A player can make a perfect shot on break and still end up pocketing a cue ball. The implications of sinking the cue ball on the break depending on the rules the players are playing by.
So, what happens if a player sinks the cue ball on break? In the professional league following WPA rules, scratching on the break has no little impact apart from forfeiting a turn. Regardless, the table remains open, and the play is passed to the other player who makes their shot from behind the service line.
The opponent player is free to choose which balls they want to play (either solids or stripes), even if the guilty player has pocketed some object ball while they were breaking.
Some leagues use APA rules that treat a scratch foul differently during the break. Sinking a cue ball on the break when such rules are used can lead to automatic loss.
What happens if, as a result of a scratch foul, the 8-ball gets pocketed. Some rules state that a cue ball and 8-ball scratch on the break is an automatic lose, otherwise replace the blackball and play ball in hand to keep gameplay going.
In summary, the impact of scratch foul depends on the rules or the circumstance in which the foul is committed. Different house rules have variations on the scratch foul on the break, so it’s important to always agree upon the rules that need to be followed in case the foul occurs on the break.
What happens if you sink the ball on break?
It depends on the type of ball that sinks. When any object balls (apart from cue and blackball) sink during the break, the player who took the break continues to shoot until they fail to pocket a ball in their subsequent turns.
The table remains open, even though object balls were made, and the player continues to target whichever ball type (solids or stripes) gives them better positioning. If both stripe and solid balls sink on the break, the player has to choose one type they want to continue the play with.
When a player sinks a white ball on the break, the guilty player forfeits their turn, and then ball in hand goes to the opponent player. The player is free to target either ball type even if the guilty player has pocketed balls during the break.
In some leagues, sinking the cue ball and the black ball on the break leads to automatic loss.
When a player sinks the black ball on the break, either replace the ball back to its original position on the rack dot, or re-rack the balls and the same player takes the break.
When the game is being played by APA rules, sinking the black ball on the break is an automatic win as long as the cue ball has not been pocketed. If a scratch foul has been made, that player loses the game.
Do you lose if you sink cue ball on the break?
If the WPA rules are used, then a player does not lose, and instead they forfeit their turn, and opponent gets ball in hand with an open table.
However, it ultimately depends on the set of rules being followed.
APA rules for a scratch foul on the break result in a direct loss if the white ball goes in with the black ball. The loss will only occur if the 8-ball goes in, but as long as the black ball is in play, the player still has a chance to continue playing and the opponent gets ball in hand behind the service line.
Cue Ball Pool Rules
- The cue ball drives all other object balls into the pool pockets.
- If the cue ball gets pocketed in the pool table, it’s a scratch foul regardless of the rules the game is played by.
- When a player scratches an 8-ball, that is considered a foul on a black ball in pool, leading to automatic loss, especially during the last shot.
- When a player makes a scratch foul, the opponent player earns ball in hand, and they have the freedom to place the cue ball anywhere as long as they haven’t taken a shot.
- There is no ball in hand when a scratch foul is made during the break unless both the white and black ball are pocketed.
- When a scratch foul is made on the break, the guilty player loses their turn. The gameplay is passed over to the opponent player, who gets a chance to pot any ball of their choice with an open table. The rule still stands regardless of whether the previous player had pocketed any object balls.
- A cue ball must make contact with the legal object ball.
- A scratch foul on the 8-ball is not an automatic loss as long as the black ball is still in play, unless the cue ball goes in a pocket.
- The cue ball must be placed behind the head string when a player takes a break.
- The cue ball cannot be stopped or deflected after crossing the head string before hitting the rack balls.
- A cue ball should not be shot when still in motion on the pool table.
- A player should make contact with the floor using at least one foot when the cue stick makes contact with the cue ball.
- A player should not touch any object ball in play using a cue ball while still holding it using hands.
- Whenever the cue ball makes contact with any of the object balls before a shot is taken, a player should shoot the cue and the object ball forward to break the contact.
Pocketing Cue Ball on Break: Conclusion
Players cannot play a pool game without the white ball. Even if the ball is pocketed, the Cue Ball is returned to play and the opponents gets ball in hand as a result of the scratch.
Depending on the situation and the game’s rules, a player can land into much trouble when they foul the Cue Ball on the break.
If the breaker sinks objects balls and the Cue Ball on the opening shot, then the opponent gets ball in hand and the table remains open. At this point, the opponent can target either set of balls and acquire the advantage of any prepocketed balls.
However, a Cue Ball foul on the break is an automatic loss when the black ball goes in as well.
Any time a cue ball goes in, regardless of the time and the situation, that’s a foul, and necessary action needs to be taken before the gameplay continues.
Scratch foul gives the opponent player an upper hand during the game, so minimize the risky attempts and try not to sink the cue ball on the break.