Skip to Content

What happens if you hit the 8 ball in on the break?

Sharing is caring!

*This post may contain affiliate links. Please see my disclosure to learn more.

The objective of the pool game is simple, pocket all the balls for your type, and then pocket the 8 ball to win the game. One player has to target the solid balls from 1-7 and the other player goes after the stripe balls from 9-15.

So what happens if you sink the 8 ball on the break? It depends on the rule players are using to play the game. When WPA official rules are used, sinking the blackball on the break results in two options. Either they spot the 8-ball on the rack dot, or they request a rerack. 

When the eight ball is returned to the table and placed on the rack dot, the opponent player earns ball in hand behind the service line.

If both the Cue and blackball are sunk on the break, the incoming player can rerack the balls or have the 8-ball respotted, and the next player shoots from the baulk line. Some rules says it’s an automatic loss if both the Cue Ball and blackball sink on the break, but thats not set in stone. 

Believe it or not, there has been a lot of confusion and dissertation on the actual rules to be followed as far as sinking the 8-ball on the break is concerned. This article is here to shed light on rules regarding hitting in the 8-ball on the break.

Is making the 8-ball on the break a win?

According to WPA rules, pocketing the 8 ball on the break results in a penalty for illegal breaking. The blackball is placed on the rack dot and opponent player is given ball in hand with the Cue Ball placed behind the service line. 

Furthermore, the opponent can ask for a rerack if returning the 8 ball back to the table is not suitable. 

APA rules dictate that the player wins if the 8 ball goes in on the break without scratching. 

BCA rules state if you pocket the 8-ball on the break and do not foul, you may re-spot the 8-ball and accept the table position, or re-rack the balls and break again.

Determine which set of rules you are following because house rules and bar rules vary depending on where the game is being played.

What happens when you hit the eight ball in on the break?

It really depends on which set of rules the game is played by. WPA and BCA rules say its a penalty, while APA rules give a win to the shooter.

If the APA rule is used sinking the 8-ball on the break, the breaker wins the game provided they don’t scratch the Cue Ball. In contrast, if the player sinks both the Cue and the 8-ball, they lose the game. 

Rules followed in professional leagues state that the breaker doesn’t win the game! Instead, the breaker gets penalized for an illegal break and the eight ball is returned to the rack dot, or the opponent asks for a rerack. 

If a penalty is agreed upon, the opponent player earns a ball in hand and must return the blackball to the center of the rack position. The Cue Ball is placed in the kitchen behind the service line and the game resumes. 

For a rerack, the balls are rearranged back in the rack, and the same shooter must retake the break.

Who wins if 8-ball goes in on break?

It depends on which rule the game is played with. When the APA rules are applied, the breaker is the one who wins the game, but if they scratch (sink both the Cue and the black ball), the opponent player wins the game.

In a professional league, sinking the black ball on the break, neither the breaker nor the shooter wins the game. The breaker can be penalized for taking an illegal break, and the upcoming player earns a ball in hand, but they have to place the Cue Ball behind the headstring.

Again, they can ask for rerack where the same player will retake the break. 

If both the Cue and blackball go in a pocket, the incoming player has an option for rerack or they can have the 8-ball spotted on the rack dot with ball in hand behind the service line.

What happens if you hit the 8-ball before your ball?

When a player hits an 8-ball before their ball, that’s an illegal shot, and the turn is passed over to the opponent player. The incoming player earns a shot from the existing position of the Cue Ball. 

However, some house rules require the player to place the Cue Ball behind the baulk line to execute ball in hand as a result of the foul. 

Note, if the black ball sunk in any of the pool pockets during the hitting, that’s an automatic loss because a player will treat it as a foul on the black ball. Legally, the black ball must be pocketed when the player has pocketed all seven of their object balls, then they can legally go for the 8 ball.

What happens if you hit the 8 ball in on the break

Sink 8 Ball on Break: Conclusion 

It is important to understand that all rules are not in agreement when it comes to sinking the 8 ball on the break. For this reason, both players must agree on a set of rules they will use before the breaking the rack.

WPA and BCA rules allow two options if the 8 ball goes in on the break. Players either re-spot the 8-ball on the rack dot and accept the table position, or rerack the balls and break once again.

APA rules state that the player wins if the 8 ball goes in on the break and the white ball does not scratch at the same time. If the Cue Ball and blackball both go in the pocket, then the breaker loses

Once the breaker takes the shot, the table is declared open regardless of which ball gets pocketed. Professional leagues apply official rules for on-the-break rules, but for casual matches, rules are set on the spot as long as all the players are okay with them.

Sharing is caring!