Skip to Content

Can you pocket on a serve in Spikeball?

Sharing is caring!

*This post may contain affiliate links. Please see my disclosure to learn more.

If one is looking for an athletic game, Spikeball is perfect because it’s simple to set up and requires constant physical movement. All that one needs is a group of four friends, open space, a Spikeball and net. 

The game aims to earn maximum points by bouncing the ball off the net. If a team fail to bump the ball onto the net in three attempts, the opponent earns a point.

Can you pocket on a serve is Spikeball? Pocketing in Spikeball occurs when the ball does not come off-net cleanly, instead it hits the outer parts of the net around the rim such that the ball changes its trajectory of the net. 

Pocketing on a serve count as a fault, though during the gameplay pocketing is playable. The served ball must jump off the net towards the receiving player in a clean manner. 

If the ball changes direction after hitting the edge of the net and frame, that’s a pocket, and a fault is called against the serve. However, the receiving player must call “let” before the other teammate hits the bounce. 

If the serving team pockets twice, the opposing team earn a point and the serving role shifts to the opponent. The rules of serving are very clear; the server should ensure the balls makes full contact with the net to ricochet the spikeball onto the opposite side of the yard.

A pocket is not something to shoot for while serving because it counts as a fault, however the game continues as normal if the receiving team doesn’t call the penalty. Answered below are frequently asked questions about pocketing on the serve in Spikeball, and why that is not a legal move.

How does serving work in Spikeball?

Both teams stand on opposite sides with the net at the center, and the receiving team should resume the position before a service is made. The serving player toss the ball up before hitting it, therefore the server should not hit the ball out of their hand.

The serving player must stand behind the serving line, about 6ft from the net, when initially hitting the ball. The serving player can lean over the line, but can’t cross their feet over the line.

The serve can be as hard or soft as they wish, and they are also allowed to take drop shots.

A service will be legit if it’s beneath the receiver’s raised hand. The ball should be played if the receiver can catch it, but if the receiver cannot get it, they must shout “let” before the teammate spike the ball. 

If a “let” happens on the serve, the serving team has more than one chance to make the right call, but the gameplay continues if the receiving player fails to shout “let.”

The ball from a server must come off the net clearly to the receiving player. A ball that hits the net and makes a drastic trajectory off the trampoline is called a pocket, and the receiving team must call out “fault.” 

The serving team gets one more chance to serve. Failure in the second attempt earns the receiving team a point, and they get a chance to serve.

Are pockets redos in Spikeball?

Yes, a pocket is considered a fault in Spikeball because the ball did not come off the net cleanly. If the ball hits the net around the rim of the trampoline, it bounces off awkwardly and drastically changes the direction of the ball. 

If this happens, the receiving player must call for a “let” before their teammate makes a spike towards the bounce. The serving team gets a fault and is allowed one more chance to serve. 

A pocket on the second attempt results in the receiving team earning a point, and getting a chance to serve.

Is rim a redo in Spikeball?

The serving rules state that if the serving player hits the rim of the net, that’s a fault/ As a result, the serving team lose a point on the spot and the receiving team gets a chance to serve.

Can you throw a serve is Spikeball?

No, it is not legal to throw a serve in Spikeball. A serve is legit if it comes from a tossed ball, not a direct hit or throw. 

The serving player must toss the ball up with one hand before they hit it off the net towards the receiving player. If the server doesn’t like tossing, they must drop the ball off the ground before striking the ball.

Can you hit a serve back in Spikeball?

The only person who can hit the ball back during a serve is the receiving player, their teammate is not allowed to hit first. The server must strike the ball off the net in a way that it does not pocket or rim, then the returner may hit the serve back.

If the server fails to bounce the ball onto the net over to the receiver such that the ball bounces straight back to them, the server gets a redo. The serve is given one more chance to retake the serve.

Can you spike off serve?

The player who can spike the ball in a serve is the serving player who should bounce the ball at the center of the net, and not one off the rim, in a direct towards the receiving team. Once the ball bounces off the opposing side, only the receiving player can spike the ball.

Can you pocket on a serve in Spikeball

Pockets on Serve in Spikeball: Conclusion 

Sometimes noticing a pocket on a serve is not easy, but the receiving team can call pocket anytime the ball changes course after hitting the net in an arrant manner. So, be keen while the opponent is serving to catch a pocket when it happens.

Following a noticeable change of trajectory for the ball after it hits the net close to the rim, then call out for a pocket as the receiving team because that’s a fault on the serve. In a serving team dispute, the receiving team can ask for a redo to resolve the issue, especially when the service is unclear. 

In the end, it is never that serious! It is all about having a good time playing the game, and avoiding pockets on a serve in Spikeball helps to avoid small disputes. 

Sharing is caring!