Skip to Content

Can you combo the 8-ball to win?

Sharing is caring!

*This post may contain affiliate links. Please see my disclosure to learn more.

Rules for the 8-ball in pool vary from one house to another. The 8 ball should be played last after the player pockets all their object balls, and players can hit the 8-ball is on the break once the table opens and no other ball has been pocketed.

Combined shots are legal in the pool table. These shots require super skills, but they are common. 

Most players use the combo shot technique when they run out of options, and they want to make an attempt at the shot. However, not all combo shots are allowed.

So, can a player combo the 8-ball to win? According to official rules, a combo shot on the 8-ball is only allowed on the break or when the table is open.

When the player is down to no object ball apart from the 8-ball, making a combo would mean hitting another player’s ball, which is a foul. If the player hits another player’s ball to sink the black ball in, that will result in an automatic loss. 

A combo shot on a blackball can never be legal because an early pocket on the 8-ball is a loss. Again, hitting the 8 ball first before the legal object is foul, and the incoming player gets ball in hand which can advantage the guilty player. 

However, it’s perfectly legal to combo using an 8 ball, provided the player does not hit the 8-ball first. That means the cue ball must contact the legal object ball first, then strike the 8-ball for the 8-ball to form a combined shot with another object ball. 

Combo shots are allowed, but a player can never hit the black ball before their legal object ball unless on the break. In other words, combo shots on the 8-ball to win are not allowed, and here are answered to frequently asked questions to understand why that is the case.

If you hit your last ball and 8-ball at the same time?

According to the WPA rulebook, the shooter will lose the game if the above scenario happens. The reason is that the shooter will sink the 8-ball on an uncalled pocket, which results in an automatic loss. 

The rule states a player should only take the 8-ball shot once the player has cleared all their object balls on the table, and then they have to call the 8-ball. On the call, they must state which pocket they want to sink the eight ball before taking the shot. 

If the player does not make a call, they will lose. Double shots are not allowed on the 8-ball, therefore a player should take the 8-ball shot alone for the shooter to make a proper call shot.

Can you make the 8-ball on the same shot as your last ball?

No, an 8-ball cannot be legally pocketed on the same shot with another object ball. The result is a foul, and the player will lose the game if official rules are followed. 

The 8-ball is always targeted after the player clears all their object balls from the table. Once that is done, a player must make a call on the 8-ball to mention the target pocket they intend to sink the black ball.

If the 8-ball goes in together with another ball, even if those two balls were the only balls that had remained for a player to clear the table, the player loses the game.

Whenever the 8-ball is sunk on an uncalled shot, the foul results in a direct loss in most leagues, and the only time a player can pocket uncalled 8-ball is on the break. Depending on the rules applied, a player can win or lose, and the gameplay continues as normal with the blackball replaced on the rack dot.

What happens if you scratch in 8-ball?

According to official rules, when the player commits a scratch foul on the 8-ball, their turn has to end. As long as 8-ball is still in play, the incoming player gets the ball in hand, and they are free to position the cue ball anywhere or behind the head string. 

It will depend on the rules used to play or the type of scratch foul that happens. However, both the cue ball and 8-ball get sunk when shooting the 8-ball, the player will lose the game. 

In some house rules, if a player scratches by failing to make the cue ball contact the 8-ball while making the 8-ball shot, that’s a direct loss. Other house rules will allow the game to continue if the scratch foul results from the 8-ball jumping off the table. 

The ball is returned to the table, placed at the rack dot, and the incoming player gets a ball in hand. In the same scenario, some house rules treat that as a direct loss as well.

Furthermore, when the player sinks the 8-ball on the break and commits a scratch foul, the guilty player gets an automatic loss. 

Can you combo the 8 ball to win

Combo 8-Ball to Win: Conclusion 

Depending of the house rules, scratch fouls are treated differently based on the situation and type of foul being committed. Some rules are more severe than others when penalizing the 8-ball foul. 

A scratch foul on the 8-ball should be avoided because it results in a lose. If the player sinks te cue ball while attempting a final shot on the 8-ball, then the scratch results in a loss.

If the player is on the 8-ball, but shoots and misses, the result is a foul and the opponent gets ball in hand as a penalty.

Most professional leagues apply WPA rules for the scratch foul on the 8-ball, however the players can agree on the rules to be applied in casual matches.

Sharing is caring!