Skip to Content

If you roll doubles in Monopoly, can you buy property?

Sharing is caring!

*This post may contain affiliate links. Please see my disclosure to learn more.

Have you ever wondered if you can buy a property with a double roll in Monopoly? When doubles are rolled, depending on where they land and how many doubles were rolled consecutively, the player plays the roll as normal.

Each dice roll can determine the move to either purchase, rent, draw a card, pay a tax or pass “GO”. However, this time the player must roll the dice again for another turn. 

Can you buy a property if you roll a double in Monopoly? Yes, you can buy a property if you roll doubles in Monopoly. In fact, if the player lands on an unowned property, you can buy it or it can be auctioned as normal. According to the doubles rule, a player has to complete the actions on any space they land before taking their next roll. 

When a player rolls a double in their turn, they first move their token to the number of spaces indicated on the top face of the dice rolled. Any space they land on, they must take complete action like a normal turn, which includes buying unowned property.

Suppose the double roll lands the player on a space, asking them to draw a card, and the card the draw instructs them to move to a different property. In that case, a player can buy this property if it’s still available, and they can continue with their bonus turn.

However, if you land someone else’s property, when rolling in doubles, the player need to pay the rent prior to throwing the dice once more. 

In this article, we are going to learn more about doubles and how to purchase a property in this circumstances. Answered below are frequently used questions about rolling doubles and buying properties, so read on to learn how to increase your Monopoly property portfolio.

Are there rules about rolling doubles in Monopoly?

Yes, there are rules about rolling doubles in Monopoly. The basic rule is that a player must complete all the action necessary to be carried on the space they land on before taking the bonus roll. 

Depending on where the double rolls end up on each move, some of these actions include paying full rent to the property owner or buying unowned properties. 

Players can also acquire the property from the space through auction by making the highest bid. No player should be allowed to leave the space they land on to the next roll if they have not paid their dues.

If the player lands on the Go to Jail space, draws a Go Directly to Jail card from Chance or Community Chest, or rolls 3 doubles in a row, they are to Jail and do not get to go again until the next round. As a result, the player does not take the action indicated because they are sent to Jail before the move.

What happens when you roll a double in Monopoly?

When a player rolls a double, they get to go again unless they are sent to Jail or have rolled three doubles in a row. 

In the first and second doubles roll, they have to move their respective token the number of times indicated on the dice face on top. When they land on the space, they have to take the actions as indicated, including paying rent to the player who owns the property on the space they land, buying unowned properties, and auctioning properties. 

When they complete all the actions on the space, they roll the dice again to complete the double roll, and they have to move the token again to the new space indicated on the dice.

If the next roll turns out to be double, the player gets another bonus roll for getting doubles. 

When rolling 3 doubles in a row, the player has to pick up their token and move straight to the jail before their third turn becomes effective. The player’s turn ends right away the token is moved to Jail without taking any other actions. 

If during the roll a player lands on the Go to Jail space in the first or second roll, the player is sent to jail. Their turns end right away, which implies the player is denied a chance to take their following roll, and the player cannot use the bonus roll that they earn from the double roll to try and escape from going to jail, the player has to wait until the next round. 

Can you buy property when you roll a double in Monopoly?

Yes, you can buy a property when you roll a double in Monopoly. The only way to purchase a property is if the space is not owned by any other players or if the bank is auctioning the property.

In a double roll rule, a player must complete actions on all the spaces they land on before making the next roll. 

Hence, when a player lands on a space that requires drawing a card, and the player draws a card that requires them to move to another property, if no one owns that property, then a player can buy it.

However, if the roll lands the player on the Go to Jail space, draw a Go Directly to Jail card or rolls 3 consecutive doubles, they have to place their token straight in jail, and their turns end right away. In such a case, a player cannot buy a property since they have to wait for the next turn to take any action.

Monopoly Doubles Rules 

Rolling doubles can bring positives and negatives depending on where it lands and how many double you have rolled in a row. The player can end up paying fines or purchasing properties to grow their wealth.

In order to understand the possibilities of purchasing a property when rolling doubles, we recommend reviewing the Monopoly double rules to improve your advantage. 

  • When a player rolls doubles, the player earns an additional bonus roll, which is taken after completing all the actions on the space they land on during their previous roll.
  • If the first or second roll of doubles lands the player on the Go to Jail space, the player has to place their token straight to jail and end their turn until the next round. The player cannot use their additional bonus roll to escape going to jail.
  • Rolling 3 doubles in a row also sends the player directly to jail before their third turn is implemented. 
  • When a player is in jail in Monopoly, they can decide to buy off the fine for their way out and try their luck to roll doubles. If they get the double, they move their token by that number of spaces, and they need to take necessary actions.
  • When a player rolls a snake eye or doubles for face ones, they can earn a cash reward provided they declare the house rule at the beginning of the game.
  • Players can buy property on the double roll if the space is not owned by any other player. If the card they draw instructs them to move to a property that is not owned, they can buy the asset before making their next move.
  • Players must pay rent if the property is owned, doubles do not allow the player to avoid paying dues.
  • It is allowed that player can buy houses between another player’s double rolls.
Roll a double in Monopoly can you buy property

Buying Property When Rolling Doubles in Monopoly: Conclusion 

Rolling doubles in Monopoly is helpful when a player wants to speed up around the board. Doubles are not always about luck, and sometimes a player can be trying to resist getting the opponent’s color group up to when they don’t have enough cash.

It can throw the player into jail and end their turn immediately, or buy property, pay rent or draw cards with instructions. No matter what, ensure to take any action on the previous roll before proceeding to the bonus turn.

However, if the first roll leads to jail, the player loose the second roll and need to wait until the next round to get out of Jail. 

If the third roll ends up doubles once again, then the player has to move to Jail before any actions are taken. As a result, the player’s turn stops when they get sent to jail.

Once the player lands on an empty space during a double rolls, they are allowed to buy the property. But be careful not to fall into jail or pay multiple rents or fees due to the extra rolls during your turn.

Understanding the doubles rules is an important part of the Monopoly game. Now that you know you can buy properties when you roll doubles, you will be able to multiply your assets and increase the chances of winning the game.

Sharing is caring!