Skip to Content

Do attacks stack in Exploding Kittens?

*This post may contain affiliate links. Please see my disclosure to learn more.

Have you ever played the card game Exploding Kittens and wonder if you can stack attacks? Attack cards allow the player to engage an opponent player and force them to draw two cards during their turn. 

Do attacks stack in Exploding Kittens? Yes, a player can stack attacks in the new edition of Exploding Kittens. However, the original version of the game does not allow attacks to stack.

When the first player uses an attack card, the second player becomes the victim of the attack, and they are required to take two turns in a row. 

The first turn is normal, which involves discarding the cards the player need to, and drawing a card from the draw pile to end the turn. The second is due to the stacked attack. 

In the modern Exploding Kittens game, the second player can counter the attack by playing another attacking card, and the impact of the two attacks are carried forward to the third player. 

The second player counters the attack, their turn ends immediately, and they cannot draw a card from the draw pile. The third player, therefore, has to play two turns in a row. 

However, if the third player has a Nope card, the two attacks get neutralized.

In this article, we are going to share pro game player tips for what are some attacks and how they work in the game Exploding Kittens. Answered below are frequently asked questions about ways to stack attacks and end the game on a winning note.

What are attacks in Exploding kittens?

When an attack card is played, the player who played it ends their turn and cannot draw a card in that turn. The next player is forced to take two turns before the following player makes a move. 

The guilty player takes a turn as normal in the first turn where the player plays a card, and then draws a card to end the turn. When the first turn is over, the second turn is a result of the attack penalty.

How does the attack work in Exploding Kittens?

When a player discards an attack card, that player’s turn ends right away the moment the player places the card on the discard pile. The player is denied a chance to draw another card from the draw pile to end their turn. 

The victim player has to take two turns. The first turn is the normal turn, where a player plays the cards, they have if they want to, and they will have to draw a card from the discard pile to end the turn. In the second turn, the victim draws another card as a penalty for the attack. 

If stacking is allowed, the victim player can counter the attack by placing another attack card on top of the attack card used against them. When that happens, the victim player’s turn ends immediately, and the attack is propagated to the next player who will take the two turns.

Any attack is made on a player, a player can neutralize the attack if they have a Nope card in their hand. 

When a Nope card is placed on top of the attack card, its effect is neutralized, and the victim player from the attack doesn’t have to take two turns because any card beneath a Nope card has its powers is offset. 

Whenever a Nope card is played on top of an attack card, the attack card behaves as if a player did not play it in the first place.

Does an Exploding Kitten end an attack?

Yes, and Exploding Kitten does end an attack. If the victim of an attack draws an Exploding Kitten card on their first draw, and loses because they do not have a counter, then the second turn or the attack penalty is deactivated .

If the player draws an Exploding Kitten card with the first turn, which is the normal turn, and the player has a Defuse card with them, they can diffuse the bomb card and continue with the remaining turn. 

On the other side, if the player draws a card in the first turn, and there is no Exploding card, they can play a skip card to allow them to skip the second turn, which could potentially have an exploding kitten card. 

Skip cards will enable that player to skip the turn without drawing the second card. 

A player can also play a Nope card on top of the attack card to neutralize the attack. However, if the first turn a player draws an Exploding Kitten card, and they don’t have a Defuse card, then the attack ends right away.

Can attacks stack in Exploding Kittens?

No, a player cannot stack attacks in the old version of Exploding Kittens. Attacks stack only in the new version of Exploding Kittens. 

When an attack is made on a player, they will have to take two turns in a row due to the attack. The attack cannot be counted with another attack. 

However, in the new edition of the Exploding kitten, the victim player can counter the attack by playing another attacking card when a player is attacked. 

The effect of the stacked attack is forwarded to the third player who becomes the target of the attack unless they have a Nope card to neutralize the impending doom. If they don’t, then they will have to take two turns in a row from the draw pile.

How does attack stacking work in the new edition of Exploding Kittens?

When stacking is allowed, the victim’s play can counter the attack with another attack card, which is not legal according to the official rules of the gameplay. When that happens, the victim turns end immediately, and the next player must also take two turns if they don’t have an attack card.

If the player makes an attack to another player, and the victim player has a Nope card at hand, the victim can counter the attack by placing the Nope card on top. That implies a player who initiated the attack will still draw the card from the draw pile to end their turn. 

The player who was supposed to be victimized by an attack doesn’t have to take two turns since the Nope card will neutralize the effect of the attack because the cards beneath a Nope card are neutralized. 

In the new edition of Exploding Kittens, if player one plays an attack card onto player two, and player two also as another attack card, the stacking is allowed. As a result, player three has to draw four cards.

In this case, the first player initiates an attack, the second player also counters the attack, and the third player puts down a Nope card. The nope card only neutralizes the last attack card, which implies the second play still has to play two turns. 

Stacking attack cards in Exploding Kittens

Stacking Attacks in Exploding Kittens: Conclusion 

Exploding Kittens card game is full of excitement and unexpected results that create tension and thrilling gameplay. One of the strategies to win the card game is using the attack card wisely to prevent you from getting the Exploding Kitten card on your turn. 

In the original version, attack cards do not stack, however with the new edition the player can stack and move all the attacks to the third player.

When a player gets to attack, that player can see the future of the cards, and the player might discover there is an Exploding Kitten card hidden in the draw pile. 

When stacking is allowed and the guilty player has another attack card in hand, they can decide to play another attack card so that the next player can draw four cards together with the Exploding Kitten card. 

However, a Nope card is extremely powerful, and any card underneath the Nope card gets neutralized from the last attack.

Normally, an attack card does not end the game in Exploding Kitten because it forces the other player to draw two extra cards to continue the game. Depending on the cards you draw, Skip or Defuse card can help the player to avoid any attacks on their turn. 

Be aware that if the player draws an Exploding Kitten card, but does not have a Defuse card or Nope card, the attack ends and the player loses the game.

Stack your attacks to increase advantage and win the game. With these pro tips you have a better idea when to stack attacks and how attack stacks work in the card game Exploding Kittens.