Skip to Content

Can you make two words in Scrabble?

Sharing is caring!

*This post may contain affiliate links. Please see my disclosure to learn more.

Before forming a word in a scrabble game, a player must adhere to all rules about placing words on the board. The illegal placing of words is penalized whenever challenged by one of the players. 

Can you make two words in Scrabble? There are no rules to prevent a player from forming multiple words in a single turn as long as all the rules of placing a word on a scrabble game are followed including:

  • The second word formed must be parallel to the primary word. That means the two words formed cannot be disconnected.
  • All the letters of the second word formed must be part of the existing word and follow the same direction on the board.
  • The tiles used to create the second word must come from the same rack used to form the first word. A player cannot draw tiles to replace the used tiles while creating the first word to form the second word.
  • According to scrabble rules, all tiles played in a single turn must be placed in a single row or column. For this reason, a player cannot create the second word by placing two letters in a column to begin a word and end the word by placing another letter in a different column or row.
  • All the words formed must be legally accepted in the scrabble game and found in the scrabble dictionary used to moderate the game.

Players can always hook or extend words as long as they are legitimate to prevent the risk of losing their turn in case another player challenges. For instance, if a player had played the first letter as QUIRE, the second word a player can add S to form SQUIRE, the player will earn from the two words.

Scoring two words in one turn in Scrabble is perfectly legal as long as the rules are followed. Answered below are frequently asked questions about making two words in Scrabble and how that exactly works.

Can you add a word in Scrabble?

Yes, a player can add a letter to an existing word to form a new word from the thread. According to scrabble rules for creating a new word on the scrabble board, there are three ways a player can add a word to an existing word on the scrabble board:

  • A player can add one or two letters to an existing word or letter on the board.
  • A player can place the new word at a right angle to an existing word on the board, but the new word must use the letters as part of the existing word.
  • A player can place a whole new word parallel to the existing word so that the adjacent letters will form two or more complete words.
  • Any new word added must be included in the scrabble dictionary agreed upon at the start of the game.

Can you build two words in a single turn in Scrabble?

Yes, a player can create two or more words in a single turn as long as they adhere to the following rules.

  • The two words must be joined, and cannot appear as two independent words with a gap in between.
  • The additional words must be parallel to an existing word, and make complete words.
  • All the letters for the two words must appear as part of the same word, and the letters must be played in the same direction.
  • The same tiles must form the two words. Use the remaining tiles after forming the first word to create the second word without drawing new ones from the bag.
  • All the tiles used to form the two words must be placed across one row or down one column on the board.
  • The two words formed must be legally accepted in the scrabble dictionary agreed upon at the beginning of the game.

Double movement in Scrabble 

When players make a move resulting in two words during a single turn, it’s a legal move, and a player is entitled to score from the multiple words they created, provided the words are created by tiles played on that turn. No drawing new tiles.

All the tiles played in a double movement must be placed in one row or a column, and not both. That means a player cannot play a double movement by adding tiles on a column of an existing word to form the first word, then add another tile at the end horizontally to form another word. 

For instance, if the existing word is “read”, a player cannot add tile “A” on top of the letter “R” and then add a tile “E” down the column after the tile to form the word “ARE”, then add “z” horizontally to form “EZ” to complete a double movement.

If any of the double words formed are in doubt, any player has a chance to challenge if they think a player cannot find the words in the scrabble dictionary. If any of the words played are found to be illegally placed, the player losses their turn and they score zero in that round.

Can you make two words in Scrabble

Multiple Words in Scrabble: Conclusion 

A player can form multiple words in a single turn in Scrabble, and they are entitled to earn scores from all words. However, players must follow all the rules regarding placing words, else the player is risking losing their turn and points if found guilty.

All the letters played in the given turn must follow the same direction. The tiles can only be placed in a single row or column, but not both. 

However, rules change from one house rule to another, especially when the game is played between friends. But as long as the game is played according to official rules, multiple words can be formed and points are earned from all words position legally on the board.

Sharing is caring!

Pauline Anne Rodger

Sunday 22nd of May 2022

if you use a double word score with the first letter adding on this square and make another word from this square can you double both words


Sunday 25th of December 2022

@Joshua, so for clarification, let's say you add an s to an existing horizontal word and, in the same turn, create another word vertically off the s. Is this allowed? Thanks


Sunday 22nd of May 2022

Absolutely, the play is worth double points for both words you formed. Best way to maximize score-able points.